Mothers Day D.I.Y – No 7: Making Gorgeous Gift Boxes Quickly

IMG_7163

I think presentation is SO important for a gift. It makes the person receiving the gift feel so special.

If I get a present that I can see has been carefully wrapped, with ribbon and lots of prettiness, I really feel so excited opening it. Even when the present is very simple, the wrapping turns it into something beautiful and very special, somehow.

This box started out looking like this:

IMG_7140

So, as you can see, you can use just about any old box. Big, small, tiny…shoebox, empty teabag boxes, cardboard boxes….

I just got 3 coordinating papers, including some leftover antique music and handwriting papers from my Antique Music Jar Candles. They are so pretty!

IMG_7136

Cut pieces of paper to fit each side, like a collage: (oops sorry about that blurry photo!)

IMG_7146

Use a different paper for each side, overlapping edges so you get a tidy finish.

Do the same for the top, if you have 4 flaps like I have on my box.

If you have a box with a separate lid, like a shoebox, you could do one paper all over or a few, it’s up to you.

As there are just SO many different varieties of boxes out there, you will have to just adjust the design of your box decorating to suit.

Tie with ribbon going all around. Curling ribbon, or satin ribbon, OH, black velvet ribbon would have looked amazing on this box! I wish I had some!

There are just so many ways of decorating boxes. I liked this way because it was very very quick, and works for any box.

Jewels, words, stencils, glitter, rub-ons, fabric, beads…there are so many ways of adding extra embellishment to a box as well.

I can just picture a huge delicious lot of Chocolate Fudge in my box! I will have to make some, I suppose, because now I am craving it.

IMG_7169

And flowers really finish off the look!

IMG_7167

IMG_7172

IMG_7152

And here I am at the end of my week of mothers day gifts.

It was very fun, and it sure kept me busy thinking of ideas! I did miss one day, as I was away. But I put it on the blog as soon as I got home. It was hard to keep up, doing a craft project every day, even if it was only for a week. I am so glad I did though!

Well, ones things for sure: my mum is going to get a lot of lovely gifts!

Leave a Reply

