Adjust the strap on your handbag to ANY length

IMG_5681

 

I like handbags with longish handles, but I found this adorable red one for $5 at an opshop. It had a short handle, which some people may adore, but alas, I don’t.

And I couldn’t resist buying it (as usual), and started planning on fixing up the strap. But the only reason I actually got around to fixing up the strap, was because this blog was waiting for more updates!! So I have this blog to thank, really, for the nice shiny handle on the nice red handbag sitting next to me.

IMG_5649

Here is the handbag with the old strap.

Here are the supplies I used:

IMG_5663

I snipped off the stitches on each side loop, that held the old handle on.

IMG_5651

Well, that photo is of when I tried using a knife that was close by to cut the threads. It didn’t work that well, so I went and found some scissors! They worked much more successfully.

IMG_5650

Here is my chain. You would never know it was actually 2 dog collar things I got from a pet shop….gasp! They were so cheap, though, only $1.50 each, and they were the right size!

So I joined them together, hooked them onto the loops I had unstitched, and then stitched the loops back on with red thread.

IMG_5655

and that was that! So easy, and I am very pleased. I know… I didn’t need another handbag, but I thought I WANT A RED HANDBAG, OOH CHEAP!, and then OH YES, AND IT WOULD BE A GOOD THING TO PUT ON MY BLOG (or was that and excuse?).

IMG_5656

One thought on “Adjust the strap on your handbag to ANY length

Leave a Reply

