Delicious (& sugar & dairy free) Banana Bread

IMG_5083

I am so happy with this recipe! One of my friends is sugar and dairy free, and that means she misses out on lots of the baking we do.
There are lots of gluten-free recipes online, and lots of sugar-free recipes, or dairy free, but it’s always one or the other!

I found this amazing recipe (http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,164,149191-253198,00.html) that has NO sugar and NO dairy!

I had some rather gross looking frozen bananas, so I thawed them out and edited the recipe a little. Here is my version of this recipe:

3/4 c. mashed bananas
1/3 c. vegetable oil
2 large. eggs
1/2 c. water
2 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 c. currants
1 tablespoon honey

Beat together mashed banana, oil, eggs and water until creamy. Add flour, baking soda, baking powder and spices. Beat well. Stir in nuts. Spoon batter into oiled and floured 9 x 5 inch loaf pan. Spread batter evenly. Bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean. Cool completely on wire rack before slicing.

IMG_5089

The original recipe was for a cup of nuts, but typically, we had run out. So I put a cup of currants in, and I think it actually made it really nice and sweet. I added a tablespoon of honey to sweeten it even more. Our slimy frozen bananas didn’t seem to have much sweetness left in them! So I only changed the recipe slightly, and I am so pleased with it. It disappeared very quickly, though. That was a shame, because I couldn’t have any toasted for breakfast!
I know honey and bananas are both “sugars”, but when I say sugar-free, I am meaning white sugar! The sugars in honey and banana are perfectly edible. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Delicious (& sugar & dairy free) Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Banana Bread [without the Gluten Free Taste] | Style it Pretty

Leave a Reply

