Soothing Hair Masque

My hair is so frizzy and dry, after a long lasting summer in New Zealand. Its supposed to be Autumn here! So I googled hair masques, easy ones that even  I  would have the ingredients for! I’ve always wanted to try making my own hair masque, but its the kind of thing you always put off.

Don’t put it off anymore though! This worked shockingly well…I’m SO doing it again and again and again.

pour la blog

Creamy Hair Masque

1 ripe avocado

1/2 a banana

1 egg yolk

a dash of olive oil

Mash all this together and spread into dry hair. It went on really smoothly and didn’t dribble down my neck, by the way!

Then wrap your head in gladwrap, to seal in the warmth. Or a plastic bag, like me, who didn’t have any gladwrap.

I left it on for 20 minutes. Sit in the sun if your lucky enough to have some, to warm your head.

It works better that way.

Then jump in a cold shower and wash it all out. Thoroughly. You have to have a cool shower, unless you want to be picking cooked egg out of your hair later!

My hair feels so much silkier now. And it doesn’t frizz around my head as much!

You could also change a few ingredients round, using whatever you have.

We tend to have old brown avocados in the fridge, and fresh eggs, (my mum has a HUGE amount of chickens!) and bananas only sometimes.

Olive oil is great, but not too much! My friend told me that when she was a girl she put cooking oil in her hair.

It didn’t have the effect she wanted at all! She said she had oily pillows for weeks afterwards.

A drop of Lavender essential oil is good, and lemon, for freshening up your scalp.

And I found a lot of people use mayonnaise. I would only do this if you had real, homemade mayo, or good quality stuff. Not cheap-fake-egg-yolk stuff like we have in our fridge! I doubt it would have much nourishment.

This hair mask was a definite success. 🙂

Leave a Reply

